You Can Call Me Saucy



Feet Stink


Just a quick post to keep you all up to date with what may turn into a “Situation.” No, I am not referring to MTV’s Jersey Shore. I’m talking about my feet. They’ve been very (read: VERY) swollen the past few weeks. There’s also been some tingling and some discoloration on the tops of both feet. FF & Sis both said to call a doctor. Here’s the thing, when I get “kinda” sick, I have no problem going to the doctor & getting some antibiotics etc. When I think something might be SERIOUSLY wrong, I tend to put off going in as long as humanly possible. My diabetes probably could’ve been diagnosed at least 3 months earlier than it was if I wasn’t in denial about something being wrong. So here I sit with puffy, tingly feet and I’m scared shitless. FF & I had a short discussion on neuropathy this weekend and I won’t lie, I am scared out of my mind. If I’m having these symptoms only 3 years in what does the rest of my life bring? I plan on keeping ALL of my fingers, toes, hands, feet, legs & arms as long as I’m alive. Period. I will do WHATEVER it takes. I mean that. I will never touch another carb if it means keeping my body together. I know I’m overreacting but I’m scared…and this is what I do when I’m scared.

I talked to my one of my best friends today and she also mentioned calling the doctor. I explained that I was sure a lot of this was due to the combination of heat & my new running routine. Just talking about this though had me in tears. So I made the call. I called my lovely CDE & explained what was going on. She insisted I call my PCP immediately and call back to let her know the situation. She said I needed to be seen TODAY or at the latest, TOMORROW. The urgency in her voice has me even more petrified. I called my PCP office and they can fit me in tomorrow at 3:45. So I will go. And I will probably cry no matter what the outcome. I’m realizing now how terrified I’ve been since these symptoms showed up & I’m beating myself up for not doing anything about it sooner. So please, if it’s not too much, a few prayers my way would be appreciated. I’ll update tomorrow afternoon as soon as I know something. Thanks all. XOXO

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Random Friday « You Can Call Me Saucy pingbacked on 6 years, 8 months ago

Comments

  1. * Adriana says:

    I’ll be saying a prayer for you. I know it is easy saying this from the outside but try not to beat yourself up over this. Take a deep breath and and try to stay as calm as possible. It could be cellulitis and not related to diabetes at all.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago
    • * saucyredhead says:

      Thanks A. I appreciate your comment. I see a glass of champagne & a bubble bath in my future tonight just to try to relax. Thanks so much!

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Karen says:

    I know it’s scary, but it’s so smart to go right away. It’s probably something small that they can clear right up because you’ve caught it so early. I’m sending good thoughts!!!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago
    • * saucyredhead says:

      Well I hope by this time tomorrow I will be breathing a GIANT sigh of relief. Thanks for your good thoughts!

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago
  3. go. now. you’re just torturing yourself if you don’t. health first, ladyface.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago
    • * saucyredhead says:

      I know right?! If this was someone else’s blog I would be writing the same thing. Time to listen to my own advice for a change…

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

