You Can Call Me Saucy



Random Friday


So I have a bunch of little news to share that I figured if I put it all together it MIGHT equal one blog post. So here goes 🙂

I’m working on becoming a non smoker! Last Monday I was out of cigarettes and lazy. Plus I didn’t want to leave my house because it was ENTIRELY too hot (been in the 90’s ALL week here). So I didn’t have a single cigarette. I decided now was as good a time as any. I had a lot of problems with anxiety all day on Monday and sleeping was horrendous too so I’m going to slowly wean myself from the nicotine. If I buy a pack, it goes to FF & he rations for me. Right now, I’m on a 6 a day plan. That’s it (I’m a pack a day kind of smoker so this is a HUGE deal). We’ll see what happens with the next pack – maybe 4 a day? We’ll see. Have you quit smoking before? What helped? Any advice?

FF & I began the Couch to 5K program last week. We have completed two weeks (that’s 6 days of running!). I never imagined myself being a runner. I used to say, “The only reason I’m going to run is because someone’s chasing me.” Well, my 30th birthday is on the horizon and I think that’s what’s chasing me! We plan on running a 5K in August (I’ll be hitting you up for donations soon!). I was inspired to start running partly due to this post by the lovely Lauren From Texas and also by Karen (who also organized Diabetes Blog Week – this woman is incredible!) who started tweeting about  her progress. I was inspired!  We ran outside the first day (miserably hot. My cool down involved ice packs & lots of whining). Day 2 we hit the local track & it was breezy, cooler & better. Since Week 1 Day 3 we’ve been running on a treadmill at the gym in order to maintain a pace and stay as cool as possible (plus it’s easier to keep water, a towel, emergency sugar and my iPod with the C25K app running all in front of me!). I’m really loving this training! Have you done this program? Check the link for more information. If you have advice about running (I stretch & drink plenty of water), I’d love to hear it!

I’m sending out some packages today that I hope make the recipients very happy! My friend Mir got married in May so I’m sending out a VERY late wedding gift. She knows what it is and I know she’s excited. Also, my friend Beth needs a little pick me up so she can expect that in the mail on Monday 🙂 Lastly, my friend Chicky had a baby last Saturday! She lives in Indianapolis so I’m sending a package full of love (and a personalized CD of lullabies I put together – check out the playlist here) and cute little girly things for Ms. Josie. WELCOME TO THE WORLD JOSEPHINE – YOU ARE LOVED MORE THAN WORDS CAN SAY!

I had an appointment with my endocrinologist on Tuesday. I’m writing a post about it,  but the basics? My A1C went up from 7.5 to 7.8. This was first appointment from switching off the pump and to MDI. Not really what I wanted. There’s a lot of yo-yo sugars and there’s talk of a new insulin to help with this. I’ve set some hard core goals before my CDE appointment in August. I plan on putting them here in writing so they stare me in the face. This blog has been great for my motivation so thanks to all of you who help me keep my head on straight 🙂

That’s it for this week. I hope everyone has a lovely weekend! XO

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Karen says:

    Something tells me that quitting smoking and taking up running go hand in hand. I know my brother finally quit after he was getting too breathless on the ski slopes and bike trails. Good luck with becoming both a non-smoker and a runner. I know you can do both. And thanks for such a nice shout-out!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago
    • * saucyredhead says:

      That’s exactly what I was hoping: more running = less smoking. Sounds like a great plan to me!

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Miranda says:

    Love it 🙂 Can’t wait for my package!!! I’m excited to follow your progress with quitting smoking AND becoming a runner – WOO!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago
    • * saucyredhead says:

      I can’t wait for you to get it and drool and swoon! I think putting my goals on my blog has been a tremendous help. If I don’t follow through I feel like I will dispappoint others and not just myself – great motivation (even if the disappointment thought is all in my head!)

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

