You Can Call Me Saucy



I’m a Superfan!


A little over a month ago you may recall me using social networking in order to win a contest. Rickina at Stick Me Designs was looking to build her Facebook Fan page and put her beautiful products on the line. The person who helped get her the most fans (using Facebook & Twitter) would be rewarded with well over $100 in merchandise. I had just discovered her online store through Adriana and I was positively drooling in anticipation. I looked at FF and said, “I’m going to win this competition!” I posted Facebook status updates begging my friends to become a fan. I did the same via Twitter AND my blog. It all paid off because ::drumroll:: I won!!!!! So, to really thank Rickina, I wanted to share what I won. This is also to thank all of you who helped me win.

What Rickina does is something special. There’s such a niche here that few people have taken advantage of. I deal with needles & test strips & insulin & blood glucose readings every day – as do millions of Americans (and millions more world wide). The road we travel is bumpy and winding and there is no end in sight. So, anything that can make caring for yourself and your diabetes seem not quite so bad is welcome. Carrying my supplies in a Stick me Designs Deluxe Bag helps me with this. It’s cute & sleek and everything is one place! I don’t have insulin pens in one place, glucometer in another, used sharps somewhere else. It’s ALL TOGETHER! That in and of itself is a timesaver. Plus, this bag is sooooo cute! Here are some pics (please excuse the blurriness – my actual camera is not working so well right now so I had to use my phone – sorry!):

Cute, stylish AND functional!

 The package I received from Rickina came like this:

Holy crap!

It was all wrapped in some nice cellophane paper and had a nice handwritten note attached

Nothing says customer service like a handwritten note!

So inside the box I also received two of her small bags (I LOVE the patterns!), a t-shirt (she’s working on her own line of D t-shirts – this one said, “Got Insulin?” – how cute!), some Bioflip containers (for holding used test strips – genius!), a beautiful bracelet (see it here. She kindly resized it for me because I was wrong about my wrist size and I can’t take a picture of it while it’s on!) and a couple sugar free lollipops (yummy!)

Bioflip – even this is cute!
These patterns are AWESOME!

             

So now that you’ve seen how great her stuff is, let me tell you how great Rickina is. First off, she let me interview her for this post – shaweet! Secondly, she listens when her customers ask for something. I told her I was going to start training for a 5K (using Couch to 5K – started last night! Rough!) and I needed something stylish AND functional to hold all my “stuff” (glucometer, phone, water, emergency sugar etc.). She is currently working on something and I know a certain someone that is pumped to be a “guinea pig” for it! Also, I mentioned to her a need for something to hold used sharps. I have sharps containers at home and at work but when I’m on the go it’d be nice to have them in one place – kind of like the Bioflips. So, she’s also working on that! How awesome?! Below, read the answers to some other questions I had for her:
 
How long ago did you start Stick Me Designs?
 
I started SMD back in 2007.
 
What provoked your interest in creating diabetes accessories for PWDs?

I was diagnosed with gestational diabetes while pregnant with my son Ace. It was July, 3 days before my birthday…and my glucose tolerance came back way above normal. Hello Diabetes. Once I got over myself and accepted this change I started paying attention to that horrible black case that came with my ultra slim…it did nothing for my self esteem and was a bit embarrasing.I vowed to find a more upbeat colorful version. Only thing I found was navy blue. I then set out to make my own. And then I thought maybe someone else would like one too, when I asked my new tudiabetes friends a few wanted the one I sewed myself! I knew at that point I was on to something.

Where do you get your design ideas from?

As far as designs, I love handbags and the function of well-made ones. I’ll think of a design sketch it or put a sample together. Then I take it to my husband,customers,fans, followers and see what kind of reaction I get.  If it’s good and they express a need or want for it, it’s a go!

 Any insights into what the future holds for new products & designs?
 
I’d like to move the Stick me brand into a full collection of diabetes lifestyle gear. From goodies for the kiddos, to awareness smart sarcastic tees, to classy handbags, to small little bags and accessories. All with the active PWD in mind!
 
So thanks Rickina for everything – for all you do, all you create and all of us whom you help feel a little more classy in our disease. Do you or someone you know have diabetes? Check out Rickina’s online store and pick up a gift for yourself or someone you love! XO
 
**My gift was already received when I wrote this post. I was not compensated for praising Rickina’s work – I did so of my own volition because I think what she does is great**
Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Adriana says:

    I love her stuff! I’m so glad you won the contest. I’m excited for the grown up line to come out.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 3 months ago
    • * saucyredhead says:

      I’m so glad I won too – and I’m glad YOU’RE the reason I knew about her 🙂

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 3 months ago
  2. Well, I didn’t win one but I did buy the one pictured at the top and love it. For a normal day I throw it in my purse but for a night out, it holds my ID and phone and goes along easily with me. LOVE it!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 3 months ago
    • * saucyredhead says:

      I never thought of subbing it for a purse – what a great idea! Thank you!

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

