You Can Call Me Saucy



Pardon the Interruption


Good morning! FF & I didn’t get around to writing the next chapter in our story last night because we had a house full of guys playing poker & drinking beer. Sorry to let you down but know that we are having fun writing this piece collaboratively – it only seems fitting. We did talk about what we wanted to make sure was mentioned and starting to decide what can and should be left out (some details are just a little too intimate if you catch my drift. If you want those kind of details, make sure to visit my friend BlogDangerously – she also throws a wicked wineparty on Twitter on Friday nights!). Anyway, today feels like Christmas so I have to talk about music today. Doesn’t seem to make sense right? Keep reading and it will – promise!

The month of June 2010 is shaping up to be legendary in terms of music and what I like. Some of my favorite artists are releasing new albums. Some highly anticipated, some a long time in the works and some I will definitely check out. Let me give you the rundown.

Today Grace Potter & The Nocturnals (GPN) release their newest album. It’s self titled and from what I’ve heard so far it’s rocking!!!!! GPN is a Vermont based band that has exploded onto the national scene very quickly – and with good reason. Grace has killer vocals with a sultry voice and a knack for both the guitar and the piano. Because she’s from my home state I’ve heard a lot about this girl and her name has been synonymous with the hippie, jam band circuit for years now. I only recently started listening to her though. When the last album, This Is Somewhere, came out, I had just started my divorce process. These songs brought me outta that funk. They’re  jazzy & bluesy and rocking all at the same time. The song Apologies spoke to be tremendously at that time and will always be one of my favorites. The song Mastermind will always make me turn the volume up, roll the windows down and belt at the top of my lungs. This is honest to goodness great music folks! Just try to listen to it and not smile and bob your head. I’m sad to say I’ve never seen Grace perform. Her shows here at home are getting few & far between (and expensive!). Last summer she played a show on the Burlington Waterfront for the Quadricentennial and I couldn’t afford the tickets (diabetes meds are expensive! So is rent! And a cell phone!) So FF & I packed a picnic and sat outside the gate eating awesome food (salami & cheese, sausage stuffed mushrooms and a Lovemaker Crepe) and me getting lost in the music. I feel bad because this is like pirating music. I got to hear the show (but not see! Boo! This girl is gorgeous and I have a super girl crush on her!) and not pay for it which doesn’t feel right but hey, ya gotta do what ya gotta do! So rush out and get this record RIGHT NOW. And if you’re in or around Burlington she’s playing a “secret” show tonight on Church Street at 5:30 (hence me calling today Christmas!).

Also out today is Jewel’s new album. “Sweet & Wild” is a follow up to her country album “Perfectly Clear.” I haven’t heard much yet but I will most definitely be checking it out. I’ve loved Jewel since day.number.one. She was my first concert and I own every album she’s ever made (even some I don’t think she’s necessarily proud of!) My first audition ever? Yeah, I sang Jewel. I still sing Jewel often and although her career has played out much differently than I anticipated, I’m still in love with her voice. I’ll let you know how I feel about this record in a week or so – it will take me that long to form an educated opinion 🙂 My favorite Jewel song?  That’s a toughie! It’s a tie between Near You Always, Angel Standing By & Down So Long

Next week Sarah McLachlan will release Laws of Illusion! This woman is incredible. She is my go to music when I need some relaxation – usually in the form of a bubble bath. I’ve heard a little off the record and also saw her performance on Dancing With The Stars and it sounds very different from anything she’s done before. I don’t know how I feel yet about what I’ve heard but I’m anxious to hear more and find some new tracks to love. Favorite Sarah McLachlan song? Trainwreck. Something about the music itself makes me think of two people making love. Listen here. I also love the song Ice Cream. So awesome!

Also, Maroon 5 is releasing a new album. Songs About Jane is in my top ten of Sexiest Albums Ever. I wore out not one, but two separate discs of this album because I played them so much. When It Won’t Be Soon Before Long came out I was psyched. There was a loooooong time between these two records and I hoped that Maroon 5 would deliver something that would be just as good as their freshman album. I love their sophomore album. It also came out around my divorce and so many of these songs are about breaking up and the wide range of emotions you feel while going through one. My favorite song from that album: Nothing Lasts Forever

Lastly, Travie McCoy from Gym Class Heroes is releasing a solo album. FF got me listening to a lot of their stuff and I enjoy. After hearing the first single, Billionaire, I will definitely be listening to this new record!

Well, that about sums it up for today. Hopefully I’ve either given you some new information or introduced you to some new artists. I urge you to check the links and listen to these songs. Check to see when these artists are touring near you (I’m seeing Maroon 5 in July and GPN tonight!!!! But I’m missing their August show in Burlington because of a wedding – boo!). Oh – and for those of you in Chicago. My friend Chad Hollister will be playing at Elbo Room on 6/15 and Ellyn’s on 6/22. You should most definitely check him out – and tell him I sent you! Enjoy your day and I promise the next chapter in the FF & Saucy saga tomorrow. XO

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kit says:

    Thanks for the shoutout!
    The Lovemaker Crepe sounds right up my alley – darn you for ruining my diet! Dont feel bad for sitting outside the gate – you contributed to the local economy which helped subsidize the police and other support staff for her concert so she made more money.
    Can’t wait to hear some of the music you recommend – how do you EVER have time to follow so much music. I’m lucky if I catch songs I like on the radio!
    Thanks again for reading my blog.
    Love,
    Kit

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
    • * saucyredhead says:

      I am so excited that you left a comment Kit! I’ll definitely be doing the same on your blog as I now will consider it my outlet for all things inappropriate 🙂 You rock!
      Also, I have no children so I have plenty of time to spend on anything I want. Someday that will change…maybe 🙂

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

