You Can Call Me Saucy



I love three day weekends!


Well, here in the US, we just celebrated Memorial Day. This day is meant to commemorate those who lost their lives fighting for our country and thinking of those that are currently doing that very thing. It’s also viewed as the unofficial start of summer here in the States. We even (well, most of us!) get a three day weekend! Mine was fantabulous, here are the highlights:

Friday – we knew it was going to be a loooong weekend so we had planned on keeping Friday pretty quiet. I left a wee bit early (well, I still had 4 hours of OT for the week so I think that was ok!) and went to visit Best Good Friend and RJ. It was so nice to catch up and see my adorable little nephew! How could you not love this face?!

His hair looks kind of red...all the more reason I love this boy!

Then I met up with some of my new coworkers for drinks and appetizers. It was a beautiful day to sit outside with a cold beer and good people. Then I headed home. I made a stop at the liquor store to see if they had my favorite summer brew for sale yet. Guess what…

Two words – lemonade. Lager. Oh em gee! Deeeeeelicious! I picked up some of our favorite wings on my home and FF and I just enjoyed a chill night of good food, great drinks & movies on Netflix via the Wii. Awesome!

Saturday – FF had to work in the morning but I met up with Sis, BIL, Bman & JD for a local parade. Soooo cute!

I think I'm going to start calling him Smiley - becase he smiles ALL.THE.TIME! 🙂

He didn’t want auntie taking a picture of him…I don’t listen well

Then I stopped in to see Best Good Friend again and borrow her video camera. I headed home and FF & I got back about the same time. We had planned on visiting some yard sales and then going to play disc golf at a local course but the weather was being fairly uncooperative. We decided to take advantage of the downtime and watch another movie. The sun came back out so we drove around but didn’t find any great sales. We did end up at our local Dairy Queen (well, it’s called QT’s but it used to be DQ and still serves the same stuff – just with different names) and I took care of the craving I’ve been having for an Oreo Blizzard.

We got home and decided to get a nap in. It was only supposed to be 2 hours – it ended up being 3 and when we woke up, it was only 45 minutes before I was supposed to be at open mic. Yikes! I had a super fantabulous look planned but ended up with this – which is ok too

One of the very few pics of me that I like - ever

A few friends showed up and my nerves were running high. Not only was I planning on fiming this open mic for this very blog and for FB (my Canadian family has been asking for video as well), but FF convinced me I no longer needed the lyrics. Years ago I was singing at a wedding and I forgot the words. Right in the middle of the song. So I did the most logical thing, I made them up. It was still obvious I had forgotten the words and so until Saturday night, whenever I sing, I have a page with the lyrics on it right in front of me. FF wasn’t having any of it. He was right – I did it! You can watch the videos here: (Disclaimer: video and sound quality aren’t great but hey, it’s better than nothing! Oh, and when I get nervous, apparently I use my hands a lot and stroke the microphone…classy)

To Make You Feel My Love

Take Me Or Leave Me

Someone To Watch Over Me

Then we went with friends to have a drink and watch the end of the Lakers/Suns game (go Lakers!!!!!) and the UFC fight. We got pretty giggly and headed home to make a late night snack that consisted of chicken nuggets and cheese balls (holiday weekends make it ok to make food choices like this!).

Sunday –

We slept in a wee bit – but not much. We showered and got ready to head to FF’s aunt’s 50th birthday. Her favorite color is purple so EVERYTHING was purple:

FF's family knows how to throw a party!

I enjoyed spending time with his family (as usual. They are all wonderful!) and we tried a few of his uncle’s homebrewed beers. The food was delicious too. I did however get sunburnt in the 5 minutes the sun was out.

Fairk skin + red hair - sunscreen = sunburn. With bad lines...boo!

Then we went back home to change and pack for a friends party in the islands (about 30-45 minutes north of us) We brought drinks and snacks and we even packed some blankets and pillows just in case things got out of hand. Here was the view from the beach.

It was getting dark already in this picture - but it was gorgeous!

Mamacita called and said that she was just headed off the island (she’d been visiting her parents) and there was a DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) Checkpoint set up. We decided we wanted to stay and have fun so we got the bed set up and planned on enjoying the rest of the night. Which we did! Bonfires, toasted marshmallows, beer, lapping waves, sleeping in the back of the Trailblazer – we had a blast!

Burn baby burn!

Monday – we woke up at about 7am and headed home. When we awoke the air was thick with the smell of campfire. We figured a lot of people had bonfires the night before in celebration of the long weekend. The sky was really hazy/foggy but we figured it was the time of day. When we stopped for some Dunkin Donuts FF got back into the car and informed me that Canada (well, Quebec to be specific) was having some forest fires so that smell and sight, were actually a giant campfire. We got home and back into bed about 8 and slept til about 11. I got up and made cookies and tuna mac salad and got our cooler packed for the beach. I put on a comfy outfit (I didn’t plan on it being warm enough to swim, plus I’m not bikini ready yet!). The wind changed directions shortly after we got there and there was no more overwhelming smell and sight of smoke. We had a great relaxing day.

You can see it was still a little overcast & smoky - but gorgeous none the less!

 

The boys playing frisbee...this is the closest I'll give you of a pic of FF's hot body 😛

We got home about 5, ate dinner, showered and were in bed by 8. We were pooped! It was a fabulous weekend though. If this was the unofficial start to summer – bring on the rest of it. It’s bound to be AWESOME! XO

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Sounds like you had an AWESOME weekend. And your voice was AMAZING!!!!

    PS. Now I want oreos. Thanks a lot. 😛

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 1 month ago
  2. * Adriana says:

    Awesome job! Sounds like you had a great weekend.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 1 month ago
  3. * TurnJacson says:

    1st of awesome job on the mic, you rocked it… 🙂

    2nd we need a Wing joint like that in Edmonton

    Loved the post!!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

