You Can Call Me Saucy



The hug heard round the world


Phew! Diabetes Blog Week is over! I enjoyed it immensely but emotions ran high at times and I’m looking forward to catching up on some other posts I have promised. Today’s post is great for a Monday. It’s short and guaranteed to make you laugh.

A few years ago, my friend P moved away halfway across the country for a wonderful job opportunity. We’ve been friends since high school and as we’ve gotten older I’ve come to think of him more as a brother. He’s always been there when I needed him and he’s always good for a laugh. We have some great stories like the time I refused to wait in line for the women’s bathroom or when we realized we were suddenly surrounded by strangers (actually those were the same night!) There was the time I bleached his hair (his mom was MAD!) and our roadtrip to meet Shawn Michaels which ultimately landed us in NYC. He helped me pack and move out when I separated from the Ex and I don’t know, I just love him.

P on one of his visits home

Naturally I was devastated about his move but I was so happy for him that he was going to live a dream of sorts. I didn’t hear much from him when he first moved but the lines of communication finally opened. He’s visited home a few times since he left and we always made sure to get some time together to hang out and catch up. On his last visit home the stars aligned and he decided it was time to come back! Hooray! So, now for the funny part of this story.

P got back into town on May 7th. He was home for good. We made plans for him to come over and say hi. When he got there, I couldn’t wait to give him a hug. Now, I don’t give P any normal hug. It’s a running, jumping, wrap my legs around him hug. Maybe that sounds inappropriate but I swear it’s not 🙂 Anyway, he got to the top of the stairs and I could see him from where I was in the kitchen. I watched him put his stuff down and I took off running. I was so excited I completely forgot about the door frame and I jumped a little early and WHACK, my head hit the top of the doorframe. P still caught me and we got our hug but there was some immediate concern for my welfare. I laughed it off and insisted I didn’t have a concussion and I was fine. FF tried to make me ice it but I was too busy on TweetDeck to only have one hand!

About an hour later I told FF I wasn’t feeling well and wanted to lay down. He got me all tucked into bed when I informed him I wanted a shower. He decided to go back to mingling with our guests and I took a shower. That’s when everything went wrong. *TMI ALERT* I started puking. Like hard core, couldn’t stop puking. I managed to get FF to come back down. He got me calmed down and I fell asleep.

I awoke the next morning feeling like complete shit. My head hurt, my stomach hurt. I was shaky. I was weak. I. Was. Miserable. FF had to go to work but stayed with me as long as he could. I called Sis to tell her what happened and she said something along the lines of, “Duh, you have a concussion! I’ll come get you and we can get you up to the hospital.” I didn’t want to go the hospital. I made it through the night (turns out FF is so much smarter than I give him credit for and had awoken me a few times in the night to make sure I would wake up. Have I mentioned how wonderful he is?). So, after I refused to go the hospital I gave Mamacita a call and she handled her best friend duties very well and came and sat with me until FF got done work. I spent most of the day sleeping. I even missed P’s actual welcome home party because I was so rundown! I got better each day and my appetite finally came back last Thursday (thank God because I LOVE to eat!).

So now you know how I got a concussion from giving a hug. I hope it provided you with some laughs on this Monday morning XO

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jaysey says:

    Wow–that’s definitely clutzy! 😉

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 10 months ago
    • * saucyredhead says:

      One of my many nicknames is Crash. now you know why 🙂

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

