You Can Call Me Saucy



Make The Low Go


In keeping up with Diabetes Blog Week (did you know there are over 100 D-Bloggers participating?! Awesome job Karen – you should be proud!) it’s day two. Here’s the prompt for today’s entry

Making the low go. Tell us about your favorite way to treat a low. Juice? Glucose tabs? Secret candy stash? What’s your favorite thing to indulge in when you are low? What do you find brings your blood sugar up fast without spiking it too high?

As a diabetic, I always fear the low. I fear the way it feels. There’s no way to describe what happens, but I’ll try. It starts with a fire in my gut. It’s hunger and heat at the same time. I find myself famished. Like belly growling, would kill a chicken with my bare hands to eat it kind of hungry (you’re welcome for the mental image). And that fire? It grows into this kind of heat from the center of my body to top of my head and tips of my toes. The sweat faucet turns on and my lower back, cleavage and upper lip (sexy!) are soaked. My hands shake so that I can barely use my lancing device let alone get some blood on the strip. It’s terrible and all I wanna do is pour sugar down my throat to make the nastiness stop. And also, to make the black dots stop multiplying every time I blink. I repeat over and over, “You can do this. You’re in control. You won’t pass out. Get. Food. Now.”

Most of the time, I can handle a low on my own. For the most part, I have glucose at arm’s length. I keep a glucose tab holder on my key ring (saved me more than once!). There are juice boxes in the fridge at home and in my desk drawer at work. In my desk drawer you’ll also find little packs of peanut butter crackers. Crackers are also in my cupboard next to raisins. On long car rides you’ll find any combination of those foods. Most of the time, I want a peanut butter sandwich but sometimes I just don’t think I have time to make one (although nights where I feel I may have over bolused – I take a peanut butter sandwich and juice box to bed with me – just in case I want breakfast in bed).

My problem when I’m low is that I am in complete panic mode but on auto pilot at the same time. I don’t like people to see me when I’m low. Besides the obvious sexiness that it involves, I want people to know I am responsible. I don’t want them to think A. – she should have better control and this wouldn’t happen or B. – Oh God, what if she passes out? I don’t think I could handle that. So I put on this face like it’s all ok, nothing bad is happening. People close to me know what to look for and are willing to help (and sometimes I even let them!).

Anyway, back to the auto pilot. I mean no disrespect here (see, apology in advance) but when I’m low, and alone, I will binge. Like a bullimic. But I won’t purge. I feel like I can’t get food into my mouth fast enough. I feel like the sugar is saving my life and I need to make sure I survive. Herein lies the problem. The after low swing. I find it hard to eat the 15g of carbs and then wait. And then test. Then 15g. Then wait. Then test. It takes too long and I feel like crap. So I eat, then I eat, then I eat. Then I deny I did anything wrong. Then, an hour later, I test. Then I bolus…and fear the low again XO

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Wow. Both of my grandmothers were diabetics, so I’ve really got to be careful about my blood sugar, but I had no idea diabetes was this intense. I loved “Besides the obvious sexiness…” 🙂 Looking forward to reading the rest of your posts for diabetes blog week!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
    • * saucyredhead says:

      That’s what this week is all about! It’s about everyone in the Diabetic Online Community sharing their triumphs and their terrors. It’s also about people who don’t live with diabetes getting a chance to understand what it’s like to live with this disease and all the emotions and physical reactions that go along with it. Thanks for reading!

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
  2. * Cara says:

    I do the “panic eating” too if the low is really bad. If it’s not so bad, then I’m okay. But if it’s on the bad side, I’ll eat and eat too. It’s crazy. And annoying.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
    • * saucyredhead says:

      I’m glad I’m not the only one! 🙂

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
    • * Jeff Mather says:

      I do that, too. It’s worth it… sometimes.

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
  3. * Karen says:

    I usually don’t panic eat . . .but when I do, forget it!! I’ll eat everything and anything. And when I go low while grocery shopping (which for some reason happens a lot – grocery stores and Target always drop me) you wouldn’t believe how much junk makes it into my shopping cart!!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
    • * saucyredhead says:

      I hear ya! I went grocery shopping low once. I spent so much money on food I shouldn’t be eating that I always test (and usually snack) before buying groceries 🙂

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
  4. * Jacquie says:

    Whoever came up with “15 grams, then 15 minutes” obviously did not have diabetes.

    I think we all prefer the “All you can eat, then lay down” method.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
  5. * Lorraine says:

    What a great job of describing what you go through.
    It’s upsetting to hear not only the physical feelings, but also the emotional ones. I hope sharing your story and perspective will eliminate at least a few judgmental onlookers.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
    • * saucyredhead says:

      It’s amazing how much diabetes effects your emotions. I feel like a broken person a lot of the time with people asking me how I’m feeling and where my sugars are. I am a person just like them. i don’t remind them of their faults and please don’t make me feel like diabates is a fault. I can’t change it and I’ve accepted it – I hope someday the general population will too. Sorry for the rant 🙂

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

