You Can Call Me Saucy



Getting a late start


Wow – where did last week go? Karen over at Bitter-Sweet suggested a Diabetes Blog Week and I quickly said, “Yes please!” I figured this would be great for my current writer’s block. I can write about something I know. I can write with a prompt, and therefore some direction. I thought, “Yeah, I’ll draft this week, set everything up to publish on the correct day and I’ll have a whole week to not wrack my brain on what to write. Perfect!” Well, last week got busy. Then I got a concussion (It’s a great story. It involves a failed (yet completed) hug attempt. I’ll save it for another time. I’m feeling much better now though!). So here I sit at 9:30 on a Monday night because dang it, I made a promise. And I’ve been looking forward to this!

Day 1 – A day in the life . . . with diabetes. Take us through a quick rundown of an average day and all the ways in which diabetes touches it. Blood tests, site changes, high and low blood sugars, meal planning, anything that comes along. This can be a log of an actual day, or a fictional compilation of pieces from many days

I actually posted about this a little over a month ago. You can read it here. Go figure I wait til the last minute and THEN don’t follow instructions. Luckily, Karen must have thought of this because she provided a wild card prompt:

Blood Sugar Nirvana or Moronic Moment.  (inspired by the lovely Kelly Kunik) Blog about the time you ate a meal that tends to spike you to the moon, but your perfectly calculated and timed bolus kept your blood sugar happy. Or tell us about that time your brain had a little diabetes-blip and you did something you think is “stupid”. (Because chances are, we’ve done it too!!) Go ahead, brag about your triumph or commiserate about your d-blooper. 

I had to think about this one for a while. The first thing that came to my mind was shortly after I was diagnosed. I remember those first few nights of testing. And shots. More testing. More shots. I didn’t know the first thing about carb counting and ratios. I just knew where I wanted my sugar to be and it was WAY higher than my goal.

Sis, being a nurse and all, was very supportive those first few days. She gathered information at work to share with me about low carb foods and tons of other D related info. She came over to my parent’s house and wrote down everything we’d learned from our appointment with my D Educator (Rhonda, bless her heart! I love this woman!). She explained to them how to give a Glucagon shot. She explained to them what happens if I don’t take care of myself. I kind of just sat there, still in a state of shock and disbelief. Thank God she was there. Things were hard enough but I can’t imagine how much tougher it would’ve been without her knowledge and cooperation (I know you read now, Sis. In case I never told you, thank you. It meant the world and I wouldn’t be here now if not for all you did.).

Now, I was checking my sugar before every meal (of course! I still do this – most of the time…) and several times in between. When I was diagnosed I was at 580. So, I was informed it would take a few days to get things down and regulated. On the night Sis came over to have the Come to Jesus talk with my parents I tested, per usual before dinner. For the first time since my diagnosis, it was under 200. I was elated! It was my first feeling of success. My first ray of sunshine after a dark, dark cloud. I remember looking at my dad and he was just beaming. I still don’t know if he knew then how significant (or insignificant) what was happening was but it was evident he shared in my (mini) triumph. It was the validation I’d been looking for. It felt like a weight had been lifted. I could do this! And after that, I did. My next endo appointment brought my A1C from a 7.4 to a 5.9! I pushed myself to get to that goal. It was what I needed at the time. I wish I could find that motivation again. However, when I feel down and disappointed, I remember the look on my father’s face as I did a little dance with my glucometer in my hand and a giant smile on my face. XO

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Karen says:

    I love that Blood Sugar Nirvana moment!!! I love that you can still look back on it for a little boost when things get tough!!

    But honestly, you totally could have just re-posted your old Day In The Life post and it absolutely would have counted. 🙂 Hope you are feeling better!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Lorraine says:

    That is an awesome story! Way to go with that A1C by the way. I imagine that took great commitment and discipline.

    I’m sorry to hear about your concussion, but am glad to hear you are feeling better.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 2 months ago
    • * saucyredhead says:

      Luckily my diagnosis conincided with a “divorce diet.” Now that I’m in a healthy, happy, fulfilling relationship my work ethic has dwindled. I WILL find that motivation again though!

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

