You Can Call Me Saucy



Because Twitter gives you great blog ideas


So thanks to all who read all my guest’s posts over the last week. And a special thanks to my guest posters! I’m looking forward to next week’s Diabetes Blog Week organized by Karen over at Bitter-Sweet. I love all the new people and great ideas I’m getting from Twitter & this blog. It’s been amazing! It’s been a lot of Diabetes talk as of late and more to come soon (which have I mentioned, I’m sooo excited about?!) I thought for a change of pace though we wouldn’t talk diabetes anymore on this post.

I reached out to the Twitter universe for blog ideas but no one seemed able to help me. Then one of my new favorite tweeps starting trending about tramp stamps. When I chimed in that I had one…and three other tattoos she said I should show pics. So this post is thanks to Geninabug (who just started her own blog My Beautiful 604 – check it!). By the way, you should know that I have a HUGE girl crush on Ms. G and I’m starting to think we’re the same girl…just living in different countries on different coasts 🙂

Oh, and please forgive the picture quality…I took them all myself (we had company…oops!) and when I explain the placement you’ll ::ahem:: understand 🙂 And, I don’t know why my skin looks orange. I can assure you, it’s not. I am the pastiest girl you will EVER meet.

I got my first tattoo when I was 22.  I’d wanted one for as long as I could remember but the perfectionist in myself kept saying, “This is FOREVER! What will it look like in 10 years…in 50?!?!?!?!” I had thought long and hard about what I wanted and knew I wanted something that represented my family. I am extremely proud of my Scottish heritage and I love reading about my ancestry and the tartans, music, culture and really, the language. I admit, I can’t understand Gaelic but I think it’s a beautiful language that I’d love to learn MORE about. My parents had a large painting done of our family crest and it hung in a window above out front door. Anyway, enough back story. I decided to get my family motto  in Gaelic with a Claddagh (the Celtic symbol for love, friendship and loyalty). I worked with a local tattoo artist and I LOVED what he drew for me. I’ll admit, I almost passed out in the chair but it was not from pain but the excitement of finally.getting.this.done! Oh em gee I had a tattoo! And I loved it…see for yourself

My tramp stamp - my family motto in Gaelic around a Claddagh

It’s in the middle of my lower back, so yes, this is my tramp stamp. 8 years later and I still love it. It really took on a new meaning after my divorce and I took my maiden name back. It just was further proof that no matter where life takes me, I’ll always have my family. Also, the motto is “Clarior Hinc Honos” and translates to “Brighter Hence the Honor”

It was soon after I got this first tattoo that I realized everyone is right, tattoos are addictive. A few years after the tramp stamp a rare tattooing opportunity presented itself to me. I ended up working with my tattoo artist’s girlfriend (they are both ridiculously awesome!) and they were moving. She told me that if I would come over and help them move, I would get a free tattoo. Hello? Where do I sign up? So I helped them move (which was basically three hours of loading boxes onto a truck and taking drinking/smoking breaks) and next thing ya know, I’m picking out a new tattoo. I’d put some thought into what I wanted and knew I wanted to stick with the Celtic theme. I thought a shamrock would be cool. So I found one that I loved and he drew it up. This one was going on my right hip (aka “the bad girl spot”). Because he was doing it for free, I had to go one before normal shop hours. So, I went on my lunch break from work (sorry, I find it totally awesome that I left work at my professional, office environment to get a tattoo – and then went back!). Here’s what that one looks like

My Celtic shamrock...in the "bad girl spot" ...that I got for free...on my lunchbreak

Rad huh? I think so. I think my favorite memory of this was the fact that I found this artist EXTREMELY sexy (and he was flirtatious but all in good fun cuz I was married and he had a girlfriend yo! You can read the menu…you just can’t order!) So I’m laying on the tattoo chair with my pants half down and when he was all done with the tattoo and told me I could get dressed, I totally said, “I hope it was as good for you as it was for me.” LOL – I kill myself. Hilarity I tell ya! No? Well I warned you a few posts ago I’m easily excited…same goes for amused 🙂

 
By the time I was ready for tattoo number 3, FF was in the picture. I’d originally wanted this one to go on the top of my foot but once it was drawn up, I found a better place for it. I’d always wanted my astrological sign (Virgo!) tattooed on me. I’d been saying it forever. However, I wanted to stick to my Celtic theme I had going. So I asked a different tattoo artist to come up with something that combined the two. You guys, this tattoo is GORGEOUS! I decided to get it on the inside of my wrist

No, that is NOT the Yankees (gag) symbol...it's the symbol of Virgo

I never thought I would do a tattoo somewhere so visible or one with color but my buddy did a beautiful job on this one. The green around the Virgo symbol is a Celtic trinity knot – way to kill two birds with one stone. FF accompanied me to the appointment because I was a little sketched about seeing this guy alone (long story – not getting into it – please don’t ask). He commented after that he had expected me to be in pain the whole time, not giggling, which is exactly what I did. And what I do when I’m nervous and/or in pain.

The last tattoo I got was done about two months ago. It’s one I’ve been thinking about for a LOOOONNNNGGG time. I participate in an annual event in Burlington called The Penguin Plunge. It’s an event that raises money for a charity very close to my heart, the Vermont Special Olympics. I’ve been involved with Special Olympics for most of my life through both the community service organization that I belong to (and I grew up with my dad belonging and I would always tag a long) and the fact that my ex-husband’s brother was a Special Olympian. Anyway, this is an event that makes me feel super awesome about myself (you hear that Jenny? Awesome! Whole post devoted to my awesomeness coming soon!). I jump into the icy waters of Lake Champlain every February. Now, I live in VT all so the water is DAMN COLD. For instance, this year the air temp was 15° (yes, that farenheit!), the water was 34° and there was a 15 MPH wind. BRRRRRRR! This was year 7 for me. That’s right, I’ve done this event for SEVEN YEARS (and I don’t plan on stopping anytime soon!) I raised almost $1200 this year for Vermont Special Olympics (thank you social networking!) and I enjoy this event. I’ll be talking more about this (aka hitting you up for donations) around December. Here’s a pic just to showcase my awesomeness

Yes, that's me in a bikini with snow and people in parkas behind me. It was February!

Back to my tattoo. I told myself that when I had done this event for 5 years, I could commemorate it with a tattoo. So this year, I finally did just that.

The Penguin Plunge logo

That is the official logo for this event. I had it tattooed high up on my left outer thigh, right where the cutout for a bathing suit would be (does that make sense…it’s hard to describe but I wasn’t showing my ass or my thong on the interwebs all so this is what you get!).

So, now you’ve seen all my tattoos. Yes, I want more. I have three more drawn up but they’ll probably wait a while. Four is good for now. maybe I’ll go back to piercing for a while instead. 🙂

So, tattoos…do you have any? Do you still love them? What do they mean to you? Leave a comment and let me know. After all, I love me some blog comments 🙂 XO

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * TurnJacson says:

    I have a tattoo… Got it about 2 years ago, took 3hours… it’s a tree and it goes from my hip to just under my arm. (Think whimsical tree like something out of a Tim Burton movie) I got it as a symbol of growth!

    Keep Up the good work, awesome tattoos

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
    • * saucyredhead says:

      Thanks! That sounds like an awesome tattoo! I plan on getting a Celtic tree of life to celebrate the lives of those gone before me. I still don’t know where but I’m thinking my breastbone…we’ll see! Thanks for reading 😉

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
  2. Thank you for participating in our Penguin Plunge and supporting our case. We sincerely appreciate the support and love your tattoo! Would love to feature you in one of our Plunge emails in the future. Contact us if interested!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
    • * saucyredhead says:

      I am so honored you stopped by my blog. I love the Penguin Plunge and would be more than happy to be featured in a Plunge e-mail!

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
  3. * Adriana says:

    I love your Celtic shamrock. I’ve always been to scared to get a tattoo- the whole needle thing (I know how ironic that is.)

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
    • * saucyredhead says:

      I totally hear ya! Tattooing after the diagnosis was different because although I never feared needles before, now that I inject myself I don’t want anyone else doing it 🙂 The tattoo needle is COMPLETELY different though…you should do it! 🙂

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
  4. * geninabug says:

    Hi Lovely!

    Girl Crush! Love your tattoos, seriously! Also THANKS for the shout out – I feel so loved! 🙂 I too am convinced we’re the same – it’s awesome, we’re awesome, end of story.

    Back to your tattoos – I love them all, they’re so nice and well done! I have to say, I’m an extra big fan of the Celtic trinity knot/Virgo sign and the The Penguin Plunge logo. You have such amazing stories for each of them 🙂 Each made me smile and the last story gave me goosebumps! (not goosebumps because of the cold, but like warm fuzzy goosebumps because it’s a great story) I can’t believe you’re on year 7 of plunging into cold, cold, cold water – you might just be my hero – and I’m sure you’re a hero to all those you raised money for.

    This: “I hope it was as good for you as it was for me.” Made me laugh really hard. hahahahahahaaha

    You’re amazingsauce! Love the post, love u, love it all!

    🙂 See you in the twitter room… bring on the sassy!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
    • * saucyredhead says:

      Have I told you lately that I love you? 😉 Amazingsauce?! Soooo much better than awesomesauce! That reminds me, check in tomorrow for my post on my total awesomeness 🙂 TTYL!

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
  5. * Jillavieve says:

    OMG awesome tattoos! I really want my next one on my left wrist, but am weary because of work/corporate america. I’m worried that my current and/or future jobs may hold it against me. Have you run into any issues with the location? Do you hide it for work?

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
    • * saucyredhead says:

      Thanks! I hear you. I work in an a manufacturing facility and even though my job is administrative, I still get to wear jeans and flip flops to work 🙂 I would say if it’s something you want to do, go for it! Hide it if you must during interviews and such and learn the rules your company has regarding tattoos. It’s become much more acceptable in the last few years. Good luck!

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
  6. * Tiffany says:

    I love you tatt’ed the Polar Plunge! You’re so cute!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
    • * saucyredhead says:

      One of my favorites! I’ve actually been contacted by the Vermont Special Olympics to write a piece about my tattoo and what the plunge means to me – so exciting!

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
  7. * Eileen says:

    I too have two tatts in the “bad girl spot”. One on the left and one on the right hence the need for extreme closeups. I like the shamrock and the penguin.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
  8. * Miranda says:

    I love the shamrock! Beautiful. And I also want the Celtic trinity knot somewhere (because the family knot is a little more intricate and might not translate well into a tattoo). AND I want my astrological sign.

    But, I’ll probably never get any of them. ::sigh:: I feel like the time limit on me doing “wild and crazy” things has run out.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
    • * saucyredhead says:

      Thank you! Never put a time limit on your “wild & crazy days” 🙂

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
  9. * Emmie Bee says:

    I love that you have a theme. So cute! And why the hell don’t I look that good in a bikini!? 😦

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
    • * saucyredhead says:

      Thanks! Oh, and I’m totally blushing. You are too kind!

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
  10. Penguin Plunge? You are hardcore, Mrs. Saucy! I love the celtic one with the virgo symbol, so pretty.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

