You Can Call Me Saucy


« I relaxed! | Home | Apology »

Diabetes is my friend


I went to the doctor yesterday for the follow up from my IUD insertion. Let me start off by saying I had one inserted last summer. It caused me a ton of pain and when I finally went to the doctor (who sent me for an ultrasound, then an xray and then to ANOTHER DOCTOR!) it was discovered that one of the arms had bent and pierced my uterine wall. OUCH! No wonder I was in pain! After having it removed and going back on the pill (which I hate hormones…they make me gain weight, give me acne and worst of all, wreak havoc on my blood sugar) I decided I was ready to give this another try. I saw a different doctor who did the insertion with the help of ultrasound. It was nice to know right from the get go that the placement was correct and I wouldn’t have to worry about that. Well, over the last week I’ve been experiencing some pain. Just crampy at first, honestly chalked up to ovulating. Then it got worse. I mean I collapsed y’all. It was the pain – it was extraordinary, and not in a good way! So I promised FF I would call the doctor and I did. They fit me yesterday afternoon. The doctor did her exam and felt because my sugars had been wonky (one of my favorite words!) and I was in so much pain, she wanted an ultrasound done. The ultrasound showed the placement was still correct but did find a cyst on my left ovary as well as some fluid behind my uterus. This is one of those cases where I love diabetes because she wasn’t as concerned about my pain as my sugars and sure enough they had given off the correct red flag. So two medications for two weeks (and NO alcohol)…gonna be a loooooong two weeks! Oh well, if I hadn’t gone in this infection may have gotten way worse – they already made FF promise that if no improvement within 24 hours I was to report back to the hospital for IV antibiotics. NOWAYNOTGONNAHAPPENTHANKYOUVERYMUCH!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Adriana says:

    I’m glad you went to the doctor! I know I’m getting sick days before the real symptoms start because my numbers get all wonky. I could never fake being sick as a kid because of it. Hope the meds help.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

