You Can Call Me Saucy



I relaxed!


Wow – what a weekend! While most people enjoyed Friday off for the holiday, I got Monday instead. You know what, I was ok with that too because there’s something about waking up on a Monday and not having to go to work! There were a lot of wonderful things that happened this weekend (and a few not so great but I didn’t let them ruin it!) and I can’t wait to tell you all about them!

I worked both jobs on Friday. It was exhausting and the restaurant was dead. I worked about 3 hours and made $26 – hardly seems worth it! I met FF at home and we had some dinner and then picked up our friend Mr. Monday Night and headed downtown. We went to a club that is known for dancing (have I mentioned that FF likes to dance? Suggests we go dancing all the time? Dances VERY well? No? Well I have now 🙂 ) Mr. Monday Night was on the prowl. I say this kind of laughing because he’s about 7 feet tall, hysterical and one of the nicest guys you will ever meet. Plus, he knows EVERYONE. He’d asked FF to be his wingman for the night (and FF asked me to be his wingwoman – after all, I’m not afraid to go talk to another girl!) We had a great time. We ran into friends and just had a fun goofy night on the town.

FF works six days a week. Monday through Friday he’s at work at 5am. He has a little more flexibility on Saturdays and usually goes in anywhere between 7 and 9. He got a late start on Saturday morning so we knew he probably wouldn’t be home before I had to work at 4:30. I headed to the Easter Egg hunt in my hometown run by a community service organization I belong to. I got to see Bman and JD as well as my best good friend and her adorable little guy RJ. I will most likely post pictures of this soon. Then I hit the AT&T store to activate my new iPhone! So exciting! After that I headed home and was soooo lazy all day. It was great! I just watched crappy tv and laid on the couch. The weather was gorgeous but I didn’t want to dread work anymore than I already was so I stayed in (but I did have all the doors and windows open!) I got to work and we were expecting a mob scene because of an event…that turned out to be a dud – boo! I got out of work about 9:30, had a drink and headed home. I picked up our favorite takeout (Wings! From this great place in town that has GIANT boneless wings that come in like 275 flavors – yum!). We settled in on the couch for more tv and hit the hay.

I was up early on Easter Sunday. Like 6:30am – WTF? I grabbed a movie, popped it in and snuggled in closer to FF and thankfully fell asleep for 3 more hours! I called my sister’s house when I woke up to see how BMan and JD had made out. Bman was in love with his John Deere pedal tractor and new bike. JD was sick and miserable – poor little guy! Then I got up and true to my last post, I grabbed a book and headed outside.

I got all the necessities together – book, diet coke, goldfish crackers, sunglasses and cigarettes (yes, I smoke. Please don’t give me crap. I know it’s expensive, gross and bad for me but sometimes it’s my sanity. I need to learn other ways to cope with stress but I haven’t yet. I am working on it though!) I cracked open the book Break No Bones by Kathy Reichs (the author that inspired one of my favorite tv shows…Bones!). It was exactly the kind of book I needed! It’s my first book by this author (this would be one of the many books I picked up at the book swap at work – score!). It’s well written, easy to follow and requires you to think, but not too hard. I would rate this a “throw away read.” That’s how I categorize books that I enjoy reading but I don’t take anything away from. Does that make sense? Sometimes after reading two or three amazing books in a row, I need a throw away read just to relax my mind and prepare for another gem. Well, I read and read and read. I tried a few times (unsuccessfully) to wake up FF but he’d started getting sniffly a few days before so I decided to let him sleep and hopefully stave off whatever icky bug was brewing. When he did wake up (at 1 in the afternoon!) he headed out to pick up stuff to make our dinner. While he was out, I used my handy dandy new iPhone to post to Facebook the following status update,”I have two growlers of Magic Hat, a sunny back deck and a delicious Easter dinner planned. Who’s coming over?”

Now, in case you don’t know, Magic Hat is a local brewery and they make some damn good beer. I’d heard their summer brew was out. It’s called Wacko and made with beet juice – it’s delicious! So I went to the Artifactory (that’s what they call their gift shop/bottling plant/tasting bar) to pick up a few growlers. Turns out they’re not tapping the keg until today so I got some Circus Boy (a hefeweizen) for FF and Vinyl (their Spring offering – super yummy!) for me.

Ok, back to the story. My dad called about half an hour after I posted it and asked what time dinner was. I was over the moon! Then Sis called to say her and the boys were coming but she wasn’t sure about BIL. Well we scrambled to get enough food together and we had a wonderful night. Bman played catch with ping pong balls with FF (it actually reminded me of the scene from Knocked Up where Katherine Heigl’s character’s sister says, “He’s playing fetch with my kids!”)  But Bman loves FF and I’m pretty sure that FF is starting to fall in love a bit too. We played Wii Fit (which was hysterical to watch as usual when you have people who’ve never played before), drank good beer, ate good food (Ham steaks marinated with a Hawaiian seasoning, roasted red potatoes, grilled pineapple and corn- YUM-O!) and just visited. Everyone was gone within 3 hours but it was a perfect night!

My sis gave me some bad news about an ex-boyfriend (she loved him – and I’m pretty sure he loved her more than me during our relationship. They still stay in touch and him and BIL are pretty good friends). Apparently he was diagnosed with cancer?! To tell you the truth, I’m sad about this. She told me he had surgery to remove the cancer last week and the preliminary reports look good. He sent me a text out of the blue about three months ago asking me to stay out of his life. Ummm, ok? So I won’t call, text or write. But I do wish him a speedy recovery and good luck on his big move. That’s all I have to say about that.

I had Monday off from work. I slept in again (yay!), stayed in my jammies, ate bad food, read & watched both a Ghost Whisperer and a Law & Order Criminal Intent marathon. I took a nap (which made me sleep through the gym – whoops!). It was glorious. By dinner time I was feeling a little off. I didn’t mention this to FF. I checked my sugar and it was pretty high so I bolused and figured I would feel better soon. I was also in a lot of pain from the procedure I had done a few weeks ago (I’ve hinted at it but two weeks ago, I had an IUD inserted. I had a bad experience with a previous one but decided to try again – I’ll save that story for another post.). I decided I would feel better if I showered so upstairs I went. When I got there, I felt extremely dizzy, shaky and in a lot of pain. I put some Advil in the palm of my hand but couldn’t get my hand to make the water glass go to my mouth. I panicked. I yelled down to FF, “I need your help.” and then, CRASH. Next thing I know I was on my knees and FF was racing up the stairs. He got me up, laid me on the bed and asked what I needed. I told him I needed sugar and my glucometer so he ran back downstairs to grab both. When he got back up I sat up and drank the apple juice and checked my sugar. 267?!?!?!?! I could swear I was low. I’ve never once felt like that – it had to be a low sugar right? Wrong! So FF asked me what was up. I decided to tell him about the pain. He asked where I was on a scale of 1-10. I told him a 6. Then I told him a 7. He helped get me focused on breathing and asked what I wanted to do next. I told him I just wanted to feel better. I got to sitting up again and we worked out a plan. Then, I just couldn’t breathe. He got me laying down again and put his face right over mine and just kept breathing so I tried to mimic him. The whole ordeal lasted about 15 minutes (but felt like forever!). After that, I got up, took a shower and I was fine for the rest of the night. My sugars leveled off nicely, Advil helped ward off the pain and no more dizziness or shortness of breath. It was all scary, and to be honest, a little embarrassing.

Now it’s Tuesday and I’m back at work. I’m ok with that although after not really getting dressed, doing my hair or makeup (no bra or underwear for 48 hours. I know that’s TMI but that’s how you know I’m TRULY relaxed.) I’m feeling sunny and productive and since it’s raining outside, I might as well get some work done right? I hope you all had wonderful weekends as well! Have a great day! XO

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Adriana says:

    Sounds like an awesome weekend! I love Magic Hat #9. Haven’t tried their other beers.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 1 month ago
    • * saucyredhead says:

      You definitely have to! And hey, if you ever make it up this way for a visit I’ll introduce you to the best 😉

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

