You Can Call Me Saucy



A Day in the Life of a Diabetic


I am so overwhelmed by the outpouring of support for “Living With Diabtes Day”! I thought before Adriana and I attempt to get the ball rolling I should document a day in the life of me. So here goes: (P.S. There is now a page where you can look up some of the terminology I use about diabetes – and ALWAYS feel free to ask me what I’m talking about. I’ve begun to take for granted my knowledge of diabetes and forget that not everyone deals with these things on a regular basis. Ignorance is NOT bliss and knowledge IS power!)

6:45am – final alarm goes off (after hitting snooze far too many times!). Check sugar. 58. What?! Good thing I had a nice peanut butter sandwich on my nightstand for just this occasion. Nom nom nom.

8:00 – dentist appointment. My bi-annual cleaning and xrays. Have some recession of my gums (caused by diabetes). No cavities though!

9:00 – get to work. Check sugar. 164. Not too bad…Take my first dose of Lantus (13 units) and my meal time insulin. After doing the math (I need one unit to correct the sugar of 164 and my breakfast of cereal and low-carb milk needs 1 unit for every 10g of carbs = 9 units of Novolog)

12:00 Lunchtime! Sugar is still a little higher than I like at 166. I’m not feeling great today – just kinda blah. That could explain it I guess. I don’t feel like eating the wonderful leftovers that FF packed for me so I ran to the store and got some soup and potato chips. I didn’t eat much so correction + carbs equals 4 units of Novolog.

2:00 Mid afternoon chocolate craving! Twix = 2 more units of Novolog. In case you’ve lost count, that’s 4 injections already today…

4:15 Time to leave work and hit the gym. Sugar check…66. Oops! I’ll grab a juice box on my way to the gym. I’m not doing core or cardio today so I only need to correct and not worry about hitting an exercise induced low. My brain kinda hurts…too much planning and too much math!

8:00 Got a good workout in and worked off some of this anxiety I’ve been feeling lately. I cancelled plans with my lovely girlfriends tonight because I’m feeling like a Debbie Downer. Skipped my protein shake tonight (cuz it tastes like crap!) and went for my comfort food – cheetos. Had just one serving (I’m getting good at this). Now as FF begins to prepare dinner I’m feeling guilty about not checking my sugar before this. So here goes…256!?!?!?!?! WTF?!?!?!?! Ok, that’s 4 units to correct, 2 units for dinner and en extra one because I know there’s some candy in the drawer I would very much like to have for dessert. So 7 units of Novolog and 19 of Lantus. My belly looks like a dang pincushion. Oh how I hate this! I hate that this is something I have to deal with all the time. Can’t I just take a break from being so responsible for my health all the time? No, I can’t because I tried that once and it landed me in the hospital. Gotta pull myself together – one high sugar (my highest in 3 days!) isn’t the end of the world. Maybe it’s time for a new therapist?

10:00 bedtime! BG check…149! I can totally deal with that! Plus, I’m counting on some bedroom cardio 😉 so no more insulin today for this chica! Good night XO

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Thanks for posting this! Great sum-up of a Day with the D. It’s interesting that even without a pump, an attachment for all hours, we STILL feel like a pincushion and can’t get away from that feeling. Here’s looking foward to reading more of your stuff, especially as we’re both on this Pump Hiatus Adventure. Good luck your way!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 12 months ago


Leave a Reply

