You Can Call Me Saucy



Living With Diabetes Day


How much do you know about diabetes? Do you know about testing? Injections? Pumps? Carb Counting? Trends? Bolus? Basal? Infusion sets? When I was diagnosed three years ago, I thought I knew a lot about diabetes. I mean, my ex husband’s family was filled with Type 1 diabetics. Boy, was I wrong. Diabetes is a lot of work and it’s like having a whole other job (except it’s your most important job you’ll ever have because it’s about keeping yourself healthy and ALIVE!)

Adriana over at http://livinwithdiabetes.blogspot.com suggested a “Living with Diabetes Day.” And I thought it was a fabulous idea! I’ve put the word out to FF and my Facebook friends and now I’m approaching you with the idea dear readers. Would you like to understand more of what diabetes is about? We’re still working out the details but basically you would spend the day testing your sugar and counting carbs. Some people could even choose to wear a pump filled with saline if they were curious. This is the basics of being diabetic and there’s soooo much more than this but we want people to understand what we go through every day. No, this is not a ploy for sympathy, just understanding and tolerance. There are many stereotypes about diabetics (don’t get me started) and I know some people just wonder how everything works. So if you’re interested, leave a comment here or follow me on Twitter @saucyredhead915. As soon as we figure out who wants to participate, Adriana and I will pick a date and you all can join us in the disease for one day. Then we’d ask the participants to write about it – on your own blog or as guest bloggers on our blogs. I know it doesn’t particularly sound like a lot of fun but it could be extremely beneficial and educational to many people. So, I hope to hear from you soon!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * theweesak says:

    What a wonderful wonderful idea! I’ll be the first to admit that I don’t know near enough about the stuggles that diabetics face everyday! I’ll participate. I look forward to learning more!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Jenny says:

    I know enough about diabetes to know that just thinking of participating in this – even for just one day – scares the poop out of me. I’m such a sissy. :-/

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago
    • * saucyredhead says:

      Not a sissy at all! In fact, I believe it takes more courage to say you’re scared of something instead of saying you’ll do it and cancelling at the last minute…it’s an admirable trait 🙂

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

