You Can Call Me Saucy



The Magic of Words


My all time favorite movie is a little known film from the 90’s called “Beautiful Girls.” It has a great story, big names (Timothy Hutton, Michael Rappaport, Natalie Portman, Uma Thurman, Matt Dillon, Rosie O’Donnell, Mira Sorvino) and some great lines. One of my favorite scenes has Uma Thurman and Timothy Hutton’s characters sitting in an ice shanty and he asks her why she loves her boyfriend. Her reply? “You know there are four words I need to hear before I go to sleep. Four little words. ‘Good night sweet girl.’ That’s all it takes. I’m easy, I know, but a guy who can muster up those four words is a guy I want to stay with.” I love that line! And I too love to hear those words. Back in the days before FF and I shacked up we would text until one of us fell asleep and if he knew he was drifting off, I would often see those four wonderful words on the teeny screen of my phone and it would make me swoon! Every once in a while now as we lay down to go to sleep for the night, he’ll roll over and kiss my shoulders and say them aloud. It makes me melt just thinking about it!

A few months ago, I was reading Cosmo and one of the articles was “4 Words to Cheatproof His Love (you can read it here: http://www.cosmopolitan.com/sex-love/relationship-advice/stop-him-from-cheating?click=main_sr) The words you can say to keep your man faithful? “You are so hot.” I laughed when I read this because I tell FF that all the time! And not because I’m scared he’ll stray but because he is and I can’t help but tell him how attracted to him I am. It’s also nice to know that I have four little words I can say to him that make him smile too.

So a few days ago we were watching something on tv (I honestly can’t remember and it’s totally not important) and the male character said to his girlfriend, “I’m not going anywhere.” I turned to FF and told him those were my new favorite four words. After a failed marriage and a failed relationship, I felt like my drama and baggage was too much for myself to handle – let alone someone willingly dealing with it. But he has – and he hasn’t run screaming for the hills yet (and how I love him for that!) But sometimes the silly redhead (another nickname from FF) in me just needs to hear that he can and WILL put up with my emotional baggage and drama. So last night when I had a mini meltdown on our way to celebrate St. Patty’s Day it put my mind at ease when he put his hands on my shoulders and said, “I’m going to go inside and say hi. And hey, I’m not going anywhere.” Yes, I pinch myself every day XO

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Adriana says:

    That is one of my favorite movie lines ever! I hadn’t thought of that movie in forever

    | Reply Posted 7 years ago


Leave a Reply

