You Can Call Me Saucy



More about me


Well, thanks for coming back 🙂 I suppose now I could tell you a bit more about where I’m at in my life right now. Today is my half birthday and it marks the last six months of my 20s. GASP! I won’t lie, my 25th birthday was incredibly hard so I’d been dreading 30. Now that everyone around me is doing it though, I’m actually looking forward to a new decade. I’m in a really great place in my life right now and things are fabulous!

I work for a company that produces beauty products (mainly lip balms and glosses) for some BIG named companies. I work in an administrative position and have been here for two years. I probably won’t talk too much about my job as I’ve seen bad things happen to good people because of it. I also have a second job at a sports bar/bowling alley where I’m a Jill of all Trades (thanks for the nickname P!). On any given night I will be serving, bartending or cocktail serving on the lanes. I’ve been in the food/service industry for 13 years and I love it. I couldn’t do it as my full time gig but after sitting in front of a computer for 40+ hours a week, it’s nice to mingle with the people. And the tips are great!

I married my “high school sweetheart” at 24 years old after being together for 7 years and we were divorced shortly after my 27th birthday. It all sucked (a lot!) and I try to keep it behind me but I am thankful for the experience because I learned so much about myself and life in general. I had one serious relationship after my divorce that got hot and heavy far too quickly and crashed and burned much the same way. Then I met FF (my nickname for my fabulous boyfriend – it stands for “Favorite Friend”) and everything changed. This boy is hot like fire, sweet like candy and patient as all get out. I think we both knew early on that there was potential for greatness but he kept his distance and insisted I learn how to stand on my own two feet before he would begin a relationship. Here we are now, a year and a half later, happy as can be and I love him (and myself!) so much more than I ever thought possible.

I have diabetes. I was diagnosed almost 3 years ago. I have no family history and none of the stereotypical risk factors so it was a big shock. I take shots every day – and it sucks. I was on an insulin pump for about a year but just recently discontinued that method of treatment (for several reasons). I fight with this diagnosis all the time. It makes me angry, depressed, proud and frustrated all at the same time. Thanks to another favorite blogger who coined the term “badassness” (thanks Jen!) for people with diabetes who have to inject themselves every day, I’m trying to keep a positive outlook on things. This blog will probably discuss my health quite a bit as it has to be something I am aware of all.the.time.

I love my family. All of them. My parents have been married for over 30 years and I admire their relationship. I have a younger sister that I am immensely jealous proud of for having a career, a successful marriage and two of the cutest boys on the face of the planet. My nephew Bman is two years old and full of piss & vinegar (as Gramps would say). He looks like Sis but has his dad’s temper. He should be a child model – and I’m not just saying that because he’s my nephew (well, maybe a little!). He’s super smart too. JD is almost 4 months old and looks like his dad spit him out! He’s extremely mellow and smiley and I love him to pieces! My parents come from big families (mom is one of 6 and dad one of 9!) and we all lived within about 2 hours of each other at most (on both sides!) but as I grew up everyone kind of grew apart (geographically at least). Now, thanks to the wonders of Facebook (have I mentioned my love of Facebook?!) many of us are back in touch and I love that!

I love sports! I’d have to say college basketball is a big favorite for me. Basketball in general is great. It started in the 6th grade when my best friend KVK decided that when we got to high school that she would play basketball and I would be a cheerleader. It happened! Her dad was the high school coach and my dad and I would go to games all the time just to watch. By the time I got to high school, I knew more about basketball than a lot of my guy friends. Some of my favorite memories involve my dad, myself and basketball. We camped out for tickets to the America East Championship 6 years ago and it was a blast! We missed it this year because of money and me having to work (go Cats!!!!) but basketball and my dad will always go hand in hand. I also love baseball (Go Redsox!), Nascar (Go Junior!), hockey (Fight! Fight!) and I’m developing a love for the NFL thanks to FF (he roots for the Pats but I’m thinking about becoming a Ravens fan…just because).

Well, I think that sums everything up for now. It’s hard doing all this talking about myself but I think it necessary so when I start writing my every day stuff you have some sort of background on me to understand it. For my next entry (or at some point in the near future) I’m going to copy another blogger friend’s idea (Lauren, is that ok if I call you my blogger friend?) and make a list of a certain number of things I would like to do in a certain amount of time. I think that’s also a great way to get to know people. That way you’ll know where I’ve been as well as where I’d like my life to go. I also have several other blog ideas such as how I met FF, the day I was diagnosed with diabetes and more about my marriage. That should work as good filler material til I get the hang of this 🙂 Well, until next time! XO

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Lauren From Texas says:

    Haha! Yes, we can be blogger friends. Good luck!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

