You Can Call Me Saucy



The End?


First off, let me apologize for missing yesterday’s post. I had planned a Vlog but was having troubles figuring out getting my webcam working. It was supposed to be snapshots of diabetes and it was gonna be great! Oh well, maybe (no promises!) I’ll get it done some time this week. One thing I still want to talk about though that I was going to discuss yesterday is Stick Me Designs. This chica makes some kick ass accessories for PWDs. There are cute & funky little bags to carry & organize all your pens, needles, strips, meters, etc. She makes these fabulous little Bio flip containers. Right now she’s running a contest looking for her biggest Superfan who will win TONS of awesome stuff. Now, I’ve been drooling over her designs since I first heard about them. If you’d be willing to help me out, become a fan of Stick Me designs on Facebook and follow her on Twitter. Let her know I sent ya? Thanks all! Now, back to the daunting task at hand.

Dream a little dream – life after a cure. To wrap up Diabetes Blog Week, let’s pretend a cure has been found. We are all given a tiny little pill to swallow and *poof* our pancreases are back in working order. No side effects. No more insulin resistance. No more diabetes. Tell us what your life is now like. Or take us through your first day celebrating life without the Big D. Blog about how you imagine you would feel if you no longer were a Person With Diabetes.

I’ll be honest, I’ve been dreading this post all week. I lived 26 years without diabetes. Without lancing my finger, calculating carbs or injecting myself. I lived all those years without disappointing test results, fighting my own body and incredible guilt about all things diabetes related. I lived without planning medications days ahead, keeping juiceboxes & glucose tabs stashed all over creation and without naive questions from people who don’t understand diabetes. I spent 26 years with a working pancreas, and I believe I will see that day again.

In reading today’s posts from the other participants, its clear to see many have given up hope of a cure – at least in their lifetimes. I can understand that. They’re years ahead of me in terms of how long they have lived with diabetes. They have been hearing for decades how close a cure is only to hear it over and over again without it being true. I understand that at some point you have to adjust your thinking and point of view in order to survive. I’m not there yet though.

I think believing in a cure is what keeps me going. If I had to readily accept that I would be injecting myself every day for the rest of my life or live attached to needles and tubing, I don’t think I could. I’ve been trying to focus on the positives of this disease. I think of all the people I’ve educated who will no longer say, “Are you sure you can eat that.” I think of the technological advancements so that pumps no longer require tubing, glucometers no longer require a pint of blood and you can test your blood sugar without ruining your fingertips. I think of Islet Cell Transplants, The Artificial Pancreas Project & discovering pigs can’t develop diabetes (read it here). We’re getting closer and closer to a cure every day. This is thanks to countless researchers, scientists and PWDs & their supporters who are spending time and raising money to make this dream a reality.

For those of you who don’t plan on seeing a cure in your lifetime, I mean you no disrespect. This is one of those hot button issues where everyone will have a different view. There is no right or wrong. No black or white. I admire you for your honesty and candor – and for your never waning sense of responsiblity to the PWD community.

So, what will it mean when the cure is found? I honestly don’t know. I haven’t run into a situation in my short time as a PWD that I feel like the disease held me back from doing something. I eat what I want, go where I want and do what I want. Of course there’s a lot more thinking and planning for me than for a “normal” person, but everyone has things to overcome. I’ve discovered through reading blogs of all kinds, every one has something going on in their life that they feel powerless to change. There is infertility. There’s divorce. There are other diseases. There are sick parents and dying kids. There are homeless people and natural disasters. I don’t mean to downplay the seriousness or the trauma associated with diabetes. I’m just saying in my mindset I try to focus on the fact that I’m not alone in this disease and I’m not alone in the range of emotions I feel about it. If there is ever a cure for diabetes, I will still be me. And I will join a fight to eradicate something else that’s plaguing people I care about. Yes, I also believe in world peace. I also refuse to stop searching for the silver lining while wearing my rose colored glasses.

Thank you all for reading this week and a special extra big thank you to Karen over at Bitter-Sweet Diabetes for organizing Diabetes Blog Week. I’ve made new connections and gained new outlooks. This is one of the best diabetes experiences I’ve ever had and has made me proud to be a PWD. It has given me motivation and information I don’t know where I would have found anywhere else. So thank you to the 140 participants and Karen. This has been an amazingly inspirational week.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jeff Mather says:

    Perhaps I’m not jaded enough yet either. :^) I completely agree with you.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
  2. Sadly, I am one of those “jaded” Type 1s… After 26 of my 31 years being completely devoted to diabetes, and hearing the cure’s coming “within five years” for all of them up until now…. But what keeps me going is knowing that someday kids won’t have to be exposed to the same type of lifestyle. It’s for them I do what I do, and hope for what I hope. Not for me. I serve as a voice to why we need a cure, and that’s my mission. But I want that freedom for myself every single day, and will always until the day I’m gone – whether it’s a reality for me or not. And I’ll keep doing what must be done, as long as I am able or need to. Whatever others’ experiences are, or how jaded they may be, don’t ever lose that hope – for yourself or others. it’s yours. Let it be your stength in whatever way it needs to be. Thanks for sharing that optimism and hope, as always.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Kaitake says:

    Check out http://www.lctglobal.com, their work is currently in clinical trials in New Zealand at the moment… here’s hoping! :D

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
  4. Hooray for you for not giving up. I, too, believe there will one day be a cure. You are an amazing woman, and I applaud you for continuing to educate people about diabetes.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
  5. * Lorraine says:

    I remain cautiously optimistic.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
  6. * Kathy says:

    I’m glad to read that you believe in the cure within your lifetime. I have had a successful islet cell transplant and feel that I am a short step away from the eventual cure. It really is more than just a dream. I agree with you on watching Living Cell Technologies too. Pig islets could help so many people.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
  7. * Karen says:

    I’m one of those who has pretty much stopped hoping for a cure. But I think it’s great that you do believe. Don’t let anyone ever make you stop believing!!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

